Our website uses cookies to give you the best possible experience and to help us understand how our site is being used. By using this website you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Future Directors

See what it takes to be a director. Gain first-hand experience at a board table and learn from an experienced mentor.

looking up at white wavy shaped building


Future Directors aims to develop the next generation of directors to support New Zealand's economic growth.

Register your interest in being a Future Director if you are:

  • a talented young executive or professional interested in governance
  • able to add value at the board table through your unique skills or perspective.

Appointment to a host board as a Future Director is your opportunity to participate in board meetings and discussions for 12 or 18 months.

To register your interest in becoming a Future Director, go to the Future Directors' website.

Read stories from our Future Directors:

Host boards

Benefit from tapping into the skill sets, insights, and perspectives of people who might do or think differently.

Help close the experience gap faced by skilled younger professionals seeking to move into corporate governance roles.

With this programme, we help you find a candidate who brings a particular skill set or a unique perspective – someone who can positively affect your board dynamics – from our pool of keen future director talent.

The programme is open to boards that:

  • can host a future director for 12 or 18 months
  • meet the Institute of Directors’ requirements for demonstrating best practice governance.

Host boards include:

  • boards of NZX and medium to large companies
  • boards of community and sport organisations
  • public sector boards and committees.

Demonstrate your organisation’s commitment to growing the diverse talent needed to sustain future boards.

To register your interest in becoming a host board email us at futuredirectors@iod.org.nz