Bay of Plenty Branch

Bay of Plenty Branch Committee

Meet the members of the Bay of Plenty Branch Committee

  • Colin Baskin, DipT, MBA (Distinction), MInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Colin is Chief Supply Chain Officer for NZX-listed Comvita. Born and raised in the Bay of Plenty, Colin has had an extensive executive career, worked across a range of industries internationally, and is widely travelled. Colin’s experience includes more than 20 years in supply chain management within New Zealand’s primary sector. He joined Comvita in 2007, following nine years at ZESPRI in various supply roles, culminating in the position of Global Supply Manager. These two organisations providing executive experience in both regulated and public sectors. Today, Colin manages Comvita’s global supply network, and holds governance responsibilities both domestically and internationally. He is a director for a Comvita subsidiary, and four Comvita joint ventures across New Zealand and Australia, including the company’s joint venture with ASX-listed Capilano Honey, a business which dominates its sector. Colin is a widely-acknowledged business negotiator who favours business partnering. He believes strongly in the benefits of creating a sustainable environment, to support and achieve growth aspirations for businesses, community and the region. In 2014, he received the Bay of Plenty Export Achievement Award.

  • Laurissa Cooney, CA, BMS Honours, MInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    In 2017, Laurissa won the Bay of Plenty Emerging Director award and has taken placement as a member of the IoD Bay of Plenty branch committee and with Tourism Bay of Plenty. Laurissa is currently the CFO at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi in Whakatane. Prior to this appointment, She spent 12 years working with Deloitte in various accountant and management positions in London and Auckland. Laurissa is passionate about Co-Creative Leadership. She believes that the soft skills in leadership areas are integrally important as the traditional hard skills of leadership to experience true sustainable transformation. She is completing her Professional Doctorate studies, researching a new emerging leadership framework for sustainable cultural change with co-creative leadership at its core. Her current board positions include Independent Director – Atihau Whanganui Incorporation Audit & Risk Committee, Independent Director – Nga Tangata Tiaki (Wanganui), Institute of Directors Bay of Plenty Committee - Emerging Director Award winner 2017, Tourism Bay of Plenty – Non Voting Emerging Director. She is also a member or holds a board position for the following; Le Rissa Limited - Director, Brooks Whanau Trust – Member, Maori Chartered Accountants Network – Member and Evolved Leadership Certified Coach. Laurissa's tribal affiliation is with Te Atihaunui a Paparangi.

  • Des Hammond CFInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Des Hammond is an independent director and Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors with extensive chief executive and corporate advisory experience.  He is has been a company director and executive with more than 30 years of  governance  and leadership experience in the banking, finance, education and export sectors including postings in Hong Kong, Adelaide, Qatar and Abu Dhabi. He has been a director of numerous companies registered in New Zealand or Australia. He is a director of entities involved in wholesale marketing and distribution, tourism, forestry investment, retail jewellery and intellectual property commercialisation. He is Chair of Aber Holdings Limited, QL Thermostatic Ltd and Tourism Bay of Plenty. He is also Deputy Chair of the IOD, Bay of Plenty Branch Committee, a Member of the IODNZ Council.

  • Vivienne Scott, MA, BA (Hons), CMInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Vivienne started her corporate governance career in Australia in 2012. Since then she has held numerous roles in the private, local government and not-for-profit sectors as a board advisor and director including vehicle finance, land management, infrastructure services, Global disaster relief, Special Olympics, literacy education, a state-based arts and music festival as well as a social enterprise based in Cambodia. She is a Chartered Director of the Institute of Directors (NZ); Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and has professional memberships with Governance New Zealand; New Zealand Research Association, International Association for Contract & Commercial Management, Women and Leadership NZ, Institute of Professional Editors (Australia) and Association of Proposal Management Professionals (USA). She is an ICSA affiliate and Registered Trustee and is currently undertaking a Chartered Governance Professional qualification programme

  • Dr Wayne Beilby

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Wayne is Managing Director of Pacific Advisory Group (NZ) Ltd, a company that provides consultancy advice in a number of areas including governance and risk management. Wayne has a doctorate in governance from Southern Cross University, NSW, Australia, having researched board diversity on NZX50 boards. A lawyer by profession, Wayne provided governance advice to companies and some of New Zealand’s largest Maori incorporations and trusts. Over the past fifteen years, Wayne has forged a strong governance and executive management career in the financial services industry. His experiences include being a paid chairman, company secretary, director and chief executive for a number of companies, both locally and overseas (e.g. South Korea, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands), including NZX and local government companies. Wayne is a Fellow and Mentor of the Australia New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) and a Fellow of the Institute of Management New Zealand (IMNZ). Wayne attained a specialised MBA in Finance and Risk from Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia. Wayne was born, raised and educated in Tauranga and his whakapapa links him to Tauranga Moana iwi - Ngati Ranginui, Ngai Te Rangi and Ngati Pukenga.          

  • Bryan Graham, MInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Bryan Graham is a Science Leader at Scion, the Crown research institute charged with driving innovation and growth in forestry. A recognised expert on informatics, he leads teams specialising in computer science, geomatics and complex systems. In 2015 Bryan won the Bay of Plenty Aspiring Director Award, which included participating as a member of the Bay of Plenty branch committee. Bryan is a member of the Institute of Directors.

  • Kim Lorigan, MInstD

    Read moreCloseHide/show child content

    Kim Lorigan is a commercial manager with ASB, where her experience lies within rural, retail and commercial sectors respectively. Kim works with a variety of commercial entities within the Rotorua and Taupo area, where she assists growing businesses, strategic planning, financial analysis, risk management, business structures, succession planning, and networking. Kim is a member of the Institute of Directors and on the Bay of Plenty committee.