Panel Discussion

no longer available



Now to Net Zero – what difference can directors make?

Climate Change and Business Conference Directors’ breakfast hosted by Chapter Zero NZ and KPMG

Simon Wilkins, Guy Beatson, Julia Hoare, Abbie Reynolds, Scott St John
7:00am — 9:00am, 20 September 2022
Aotea Centre
50 Mayoral Drive, Auckland CBD
Price members
$65.00 incl GST
Price non-members
$90.00 incl GST


Reporting on the financial impacts and risks of climate change, adapting to the impacts of wilder weather on infrastructure, and effectively managing carbon emissions are all now firmly part of the governance landscape.

Although 48% of directors said their boards were proactive in managing climate risks and practices in their business (up from 35% in 2020), climate change strategy, risk management, and measurement continue to be seen by many directors and boards as complex and difficult to navigate.

This special Chapter Zero NZ event, hosted in partnership with KPMG, will begin unravelling this complexity with a discussion on how directors and boards can effectively govern their climate strategy.

Join Guy Beatson MInstD, General Manager of the IoD’s Governance Leadership Centre, Simon Wilkins, KPMG Partner and Head of KPMG IMPACT, and experienced directors Julia Hoare CMInstD and Abbie Reynolds for this discussion before Day 2 of the Climate Change Business Conference.

This event is held in partnership with the Climate Change and Business Conference. Find out more.

IoD members are entitled to a 10% discount on registration for the Climate Change and Business Conference, by entering the code IOD10 at checkout.

Simon Wilkins

Simon is Head of KPMG IMPACT in New Zealand. This is part of a global network that is dedicated to partnering with KPMG to address the biggest issues facing our planet, enable growth with purpose, and have a real and positive impact towards the UN's Sustainable Development Goals. In New Zealand, this is a core part of fuelling prosperity for our country and communities. Simon’s role is to lead the firm in supporting transformational change in business, government and the wider community across five related domains: Economic and Social Development; Climate Change and Decarbonisation; ESG & Sustainability; Sustainable Finance; and Measurement, Assurance and Reporting.

Guy Beatson MInstD

Guy Beatson is the General Manager, Governance Leadership Centre at the IoD. He is an experienced senior leader who has worked with public, private and not-for-profit entities in New Zealand, Fiji, Mongolia, Australia and the United States. His previous senior roles include Deputy Chief Executive, Strategy and Organisation Performance at Te Puni Kōkiri; Deputy Secretary Natural Resources Policy at Ministry for the Environment. Most recently, he ran his own freelance consultancy practice supporting public sector senior executives and their teams to deliver high quality decision-making, advice and policy implementation. In each of these roles, he engaged on a range of natural resource, environmental and other issues with iwi/hapū and other Māori interests.

Julia Hoare CMInstD

Julia Hoare is a professional independent director, Chair of the Board of the Institute of Directors and current President of the IoD Council. She is Chair of Port of Tauranga Limited, Deputy Chair of the a2 Milk Company Limited, and Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk committees of Auckland International Airport Limited and Meridian Energy Ltd. She was previously a Director of New Zealand Post, AWF Madison Group and Watercare Services and formerly a member of the External Reporting Advisory Panel and the New Zealand Sustainable Finance Forum Leadership Group. Julia is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Chapter Zero New Zealand Steering Committee.

Abbie Reynolds

Abbie Reynolds is a nationally respected advocate for climate change response and sustainability in business. Current governance roles include Director of Auckland Transport, Trustee of Sustainable Coastlines Board, Chair of Westpac Sustainability Panel and Fellow of NEXT Foundation.

Abbie was previously Chief Executive of Predator Free 2050 Ltd and Executive Director of the Sustainable Business Council. While at SBC, she co-founded the Climate Leaders' Coalition for which she won the Board and Management Award in the 2019 New Zealand Women of Influence Awards. Her other roles have included being part of the New Zealand Government's Electric Vehicle Leadership Group and a member of the Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor's Rethinking Plastics.

Scott St John CFInstD

Scott St John is the current Chair of Fisher and Paykel Healthcare. He is also a Director of ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited (ANZ NZ), Fonterra and Mercury Energy as well as a board member of the NEXT Foundation. He was Chancellor of the University of Auckland from 2017 to June 2021 and a member of the University Council since 2009. Previously, Scott was a member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce, the Financial Markets Authority Establishment Board and the Security Industry Association, which he chaired. In his professional capacity, Scott was the Chief Executive of First New Zealand Capital (now called Jarden) for 15 years and was a former stockbroker. He is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, a fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals of New Zealand and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Additional information


By registering for this event you are confirming that you agree to adhere to our Covid-19 health and safety measures. If you are unwell or have any Covid-19 symptoms please do not attend this event.

Branch event cancellation policy

Regrettably, registration fees cannot be refunded when cancellations are received within two working days prior to any branch event.

See our standard terms and conditions for more information.


Kristyn Chandler-Yates
National Sponsorship and Events Manager

+64 27 207 2592

Chapter Zero logo

KPMG logo

Related tags