Emerging Director Award

Each year the Waikato branch of the Institute of Directors (IoD) calls for applications for the Waikato Branch Emerging Director Award. This initiative by the Waikato branch of the Institute of Directors provides a valuable training and networking opportunity for senior managers, community or business leaders who would like to strengthen their knowledge of governance issues.

About the Award

Are you…

  • Aspiring to follow a directorship path?
  • Committed to excellence within governance?
  • Have some experience but want to accelerate your development?

Have you…

  • Shown commitment to your own governance development?
  • A sense of passion and enthusiasm for governance?

The value of the winner’s prize, which includes a year’s complimentary membership of the IoD and $4000 worth of enrolment in IoD Director Development training courses, can be measured in more than just dollar terms. This award will provide both financial and practical assistance as the successful applicant will also be offered a 12-month director development Position on the Ultra Fast Fibre board.

Award – Total value $5,000

  • Complimentary membership with IoD for 12 months
  • Complimentary attendance at all branch functions for 12 months
  • Mentoring with experienced director for 12 months
  • $4,000 towards IoD professional development (must be spent in current year)
  • 'Director development'* position for 12 months with the sponsoring board Ultra Fast Fibre

*The emerging director will have the right to participate in board and audit committee meetings but will not be able to vote on any board resolution. The successful applicant will be required to sign a confidentiality agreement with the sponsoring board. The position will be unpaid.

Applications for 2017 close 14 July

To download the application form, click here

Please submit your application by email to:

Past winners

2016 - Alison Shanks
Alison Shanks and Margaret Devlin
A new passion has former gold medal professional cyclist Alison Shanks onto another winning road, after being awarded the Institute of Directors’ Waikato Branch Emerging Director Award. The double world champion, Olympian and Commonwealth gold medallist was recognised as an emerging talent in governance at an event on 20 July. Institute of Directors Waikato Branch Chair Margaret Devlin says the judges were impressed by Ms Shanks’ passion and vision for professional governance development and desire to add real value to Waikato boardrooms. Read more

2015 - James Yearsley

Congraulations to James Yearsley, 2015 Waikato branch of IoD Emerging Director Award winner.

Tamahere community champion James Yearsley has been recognised as a developing talent in Waikato’s business and community sectors.

The Tamahere Dad’s Army founder has been named the winner of the Institute of Directors’ Waikato Emerging Director Award, an initiative designed to foster upcoming talent in governance.

Institute of Directors Waikato Branch Chair Margaret Devlin says judges were impressed by Yearsley’s dedication to both his community and his career.

“We had a record number of high calibre applicants, and James stood out as someone with a diverse skillset,” she said. “He has a strong understanding of good governance principles, a range of practical board experience and a real commitment to his local community.”

 “The Emerging Director Award is a real honour,” said Yearsley. “It’s a great opportunity to develop my governance skills, and I’m looking forward to translating that into both my business and community roles.”

Read full media release

2014 - Sarah Morton-Johnson

The Waikato branch of the Institute of Directors (IoD) announced that Sarah Morton-Johnson was awarded its fifth annual Emerging Director Award. The award includes a 12 month Director Development position with the Wintec Council.

Additionally, Mrs Morton-Johnson is provided with a complimentary 12-month IoD membership, professional development opportunities to a value of $2,000 and will be mentored by an experienced director for one year.

Chair of the Waikato Institute of Directors, Margaret Devlin, said Sarah stood out amongst nominees as a person well-suited for a directorship career.

“Sarah has a promising career as a director. She has had governance exposure on a range of boards in various industries including manufacturing, hospitality, education, training and social services, and she has used her commercial background and experience in human resources to help groups and organisations in the not-for-profit sector, in particular organisations that work with youth,” said Devlin. Read more

2013 - Paula Baker

2012-  Simon Lockwood

2011 - Erica Amon

Erica Amon graduated from Otago University with Bachelor and Masters degrees in clinical pharmacy. She is currently a consultant in primary health care. Erica was one of the founding trustees of Waikato Youth Empowerment Trust, a charitable Trust that delivers youth programmes and was Chair from 2006-2010. Her governance experience includes being a member of the Waikato Primary Health’s Finance, Audit and Risk committee, and the Grants committee. Erica has complemented her governance experience with a range of Institute of Directors courses including most recently the Regional Directors’ Development Programme. The award includes a 12 month director development position on the sponsoring board HRH (Hamilton Riverview Hotel) and $2000 to undertake IoD professional development courses as sponsored by the Element Group. In addition, Erica will have access to one year of complimentary membership with the IoD.

Runner up winner was Jocelyn Mikaere. Jocelyn will have twelve months mentoring from an experienced director.