Our thoughts are with our members and their organisations impacted by Cyclone Gabrielle. Boards have a key role to play in the wake of any crisis. See guidance for chairs and directors

Our thoughts are with our members and their organisations impacted by Cyclone Gabrielle. Boards have a key role to play in the wake of any crisis. See guidance for chairs and directors


no longer available



2022 IoD Annual General Meeting

Please join us for the National Annual General Meeting of the IoD with guest speaker Tā Tipene O’Regan DistFInstD.

This is a member-only event. Please log in to register for this event. Not a member? Join the IoD
Tā Tipene O’Regan, Julia Hoare, Kirsten (KP) Patterson
11:00am — 12:10pm, 29 June 2022
$0.00 incl GST


The Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand Incorporated will be held at 11.00am on Wednesday 29 June.

If you would like to attend the AGM in person register here

Annual General Meeting agenda
  1. Apologies
  2. To note the minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting 
  3. To receive the Annual Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2021
  4. To receive the report of the President
  5. To appoint an auditor
  6. To transition to the New Rules, being the Constitution of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand Incorporated
  7. To announce appointments to the Board
  8. To receive a declaration of Councillors from the branches
  9. General business

At the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) members will be addressed by guest speaker, Tā Tipene O’Regan. Tā Tipene argues that the great merit of the tribally owned company is that it has "a shareholder who never dies". The ongoing inter-generational character of the Iwi permits an investment horizon and strategies quite different from those commonly espoused within a capitalist market frame. The session will be followed by a Q&A session.

Overview of timings

11.00am – AGM proceedings commence

11.40am – AGM proceedings conclude

11.40am – Guest speaker address - Tā Tipene O’Regan, DistFInstD

12.10pm – event concludes

Tā Tipene O’Regan DistFInstD

Tā Tipene O’Regan is one of the most influential and important tribal members in the modern history of Ngāi Tahu.

He was a longstanding Chairman of the Ngāi Tahu Māori Trust Board, as well as the principal architect and negotiator of two fishery settlements, and chief negotiator for Te Kerēme – the Ngāi Tahu Claim, which culminated in the Ngāi Tahu Settlement in 1998. He is credited as one of the key architects of the Treaty of Waitangi Settlements process and was the founding Chairman of the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission.

Tā Tipene is an academic historian and a former Assistant Vice-Chancellor-Māori of the University of Canterbury. He was a member of the New Zealand Geographic Board for 32 years, including Chairman of its Māori names committee. He is also a companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand and was knighted in 1994.

As a Distinguished Fellow of the Institute of Directors New Zealand, Tā Tipene has held director roles on numerous State-Owned Enterprises, and was the founding Chairman of the Sealord Group, Ngāi Tahu Holdings, and Te Ohu Kaimoana – the Māori Fisheries Commission. He was also a longstanding governor of TVNZ, and the acting Chairman of Transit New Zealand, which is now known as Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency.

His academic interests have focused on traditional Māori history, and particularly that of Te Waipounamu – the South Island. Over his lifetime, Tā Tipene has published and lectured extensively on Ngāi Tahu traditional history, Polynesian migration, Treaty issues, and the evolution of biculturalism.

More recently, he can often be found at the Ngāi Tahu Archive, where he has tirelessly worked to record and protect the knowledge of Ngāi Tahu for future generations, since first founding the archive in 1978. He has served as the inaugural chair of Te Pae Kōrako, the Ngāi Tahu Archive Advisory Committee since 2012.

Tā Tipene O’Regan was recently named the 2022 Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year.

Julia Hoare CMinstD

National Council (President)

Julia Hoare is a professional independent director and the current President of the Institute of Directors Council. She is Deputy Chair of the a2 Milk Company Limited, and Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk committees of Auckland International Airport Limited, Port of Tauranga Limited, and Meridian Energy Ltd. She was previously a Director of New Zealand Post, AWF Madison Group and Watercare Services and formerly a member of the External Reporting Advisory Panel and the New Zealand Sustainable Finance Forum Leadership Group. Julia was a Partner with PwC NZ for 20 years where she sat on the Government’s review into the emissions trading scheme, and also set up and led PwC’s local sustainability and climate change services practice. Julia is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.

Kirsten (KP) Patterson CMInstD

Commercial Committee (Chair), Chief Executive

KP is the Chief Executive of the Institute of Directors. She is a qualified lawyer and a Distinguished Fellow of the Human Resources Institute of New Zealand, Co-deputy Chair of the Global Network of Directors Institutes (GNDI), Chair of the Brian Picot Ethical Leadership advisory board and was previously Chair of the Wellington Homeless Women’s Trust.  With extensive governance and leadership experience, she is actively involved in community initiatives.

A strong advocate of diversity, KP was also a founding member of Global Women’s ‘Champions for Change’, a group of senior executives and directors who commit to diversity in the workplace, and a founding member of WiSPA, an organisation promoting women in sport, and mentors a number of business leaders.

Related tags