Tuakana Teina Chair Mentoring Progamme

Connecting the next generation of chairs to strengthen the community sector.

Mitre Peak Fiordland

tuakana teina logo

To support the vision for all community organisations in Aotearoa New Zealand to be well governed, Community Governance NZ and the Institute of Directors (IoD) have formed a new partnership. This collaboration aims to strengthen and support the community governance sector with best practice expertise of the IoD.

See latest updates on the 2022 programme in two interviews with teina and tuakana.

Programme details

Applications for the 2022 programme are now closed.

We offer mentoring opportunity for 25 teina (mentee) chairs to deepen their leadership in a structured, supportive environment through connection with an experienced tuakana (mentor) chair.

  • Are you currently the chair of an eligible community organisation who would like to improve your governance capability?
  • Would you like to connect with a well-established chair who can share their experience and insights?
  • Do you want to focus on the unique challenges of community governance?
  • Would you like to build your networks in a supportive environment with other leaders in the community sector?

The concept of Tuakana Teina is a Māori values-based principle of ako (two-way learning), which draws upon shared experience, knowledge and support.

Successful teina (mentees) are matched with an established community board chair tuakana (mentor) for a 10-month programme of one-to-one mentoring (usually six to seven sessions).

Mentoring sessions are enhanced through a number of online and in-person events to connect with the other teina (mentees) in the programme and hear from governance experts on relevant topics.

Teina (mentees) will also receive complimentary access to the online IoD Governance Essentials and Finance Essentials training programmes during the programme period (a value of $1188 per person).

Programme launch

See our launch video with participating tuakana (mentors) Alan Isaac, Dame Kerry Prendergast, Mele Wendt, Prabha Ravi and Rawiri Bhana. 

Maori proverb