

LEADING GOVERNANCE | Friday 14 February 2020

Institute of Directors Wellington Branch

30th Annual General Meeting



Institute of Directors (Inc.) Wellington Branch 30th Annual General Meeting Minutes

Held at KPMG, Level 9, 10 Customhouse Quay, Wellington, 14 February 2020 at 12:00pm

Present

Wellington Branch Committee Members

Dr Helen Anderson, Jackie Lloyd, Suse Reynolds, Rick Christie, Geoff Dangerfield, Rachel Farrant and Karen Coutts.

Member attendance:

IoD President, Alan Isaac.75 members were also present.

In attendance:

Pauline Prince – Wellington Branch Manager Suzanne Kargar – Wellington Branch Executive

Apologies

Wellington Branch Committee apologies:

Sam Robinson, Samantha Sharif, David Pilkington, Rob Campbell & Mike Devonshire

Welcome

Dr Helen Anderson, Chair of the Wellington Branch Committee welcomed members, sponsors, the Wellington Branch Committee, IoD President and IoD National Office staff in attendance.

Minutes

Copies of the minutes of the 29th Annual General Meeting dated 20th February 2019 were circulated and tabled.

The minutes of the 29th Annual General Meeting were approved as a true and correct record.

Moved: Jackie Lloyd Seconded: Ross Tanner

Chair's Report

The Chair read her Annual Report, noting some highlights as follows:

- Slower membership growth in 2019 felt throughout all IoD branches
- The membership data across all our membership categories
- The popularity of webcast events introduced by National Office in response to member requests
- A heightened profile of the IoD with the launch of the new IoD website, brand and customised delivery platform
- The Chair encouraged those members who are yet to activate their account on the new IoD website, to do so as this will greatly enhance their user experience.



The Chair acknowledged all Wellington Branch Committee members for their strong contributions made throughout the year and for their continuing efforts. Jackie Lloyd and Rick Christie received a special acknowledgement for their valued support.

The Chair then concluded her report commenting on the importance of good organisational culture and the role directors' play in managing internal culture.

The Chair's report was accepted. Moved: Denise Church Seconded: Jackie Lloyd

Financial Report

The Wellington Branch Annual Financial Performance Statement for 2019 was distributed and showed a surplus income for the year of \$8,344.00.

The Financial Report was accepted. Moved: Karen Coutts Seconded: Dave Frow

Election

In accordance with the Wellington Branch Constitution, the Chair, Dr Helen Anderson was due to stand for re-election but opted not to do so and tendered her resignation.

The Chair conveyed the election results noting no voting was required given the nominees received did not exceed the committee member vacancies. The chair then welcomed Ann Urlwin (CFInstD) as a newly nominated committee member and confirmed the 2020 Wellington Branch Committee as:

Jackie Lloyd (Deputy Chair), David Pilkington, Geoff Dangerfield, Karen Coutts, Mike Devonshire (East Coast sub-committee), Rachel Farrant, Rick Christie, Rob Campbell (Manawatu sub-committee), Sam Robinson, Samantha Sharif, Suse Reynolds and Ann Urlwin.

General Business

Jackie Lloyd acknowledged the retiring chair for her strong leadership and thanked her for her long service on the IoD Wellington Branch Committee and IoD Council.

There being no further business noted, the meeting concluded at 1:00pm.

Chair Date

The new Wellington Branch Committee met immediately after the AGM and appointed Jackie Lloyd as new Chair and Geoff Dangerfield as Deputy Chair.

