



LEADING GOVERNANCE | Wednesday 17 February 2021

Institute of Directors Taranaki Branch

9th Annual General Meeting



Minutes of the 9th Annual General Meeting of the Taranaki Branch

Held on 17 February 2020 via Zoom, 5:30 pm

ASB, Marsh and PwC sponsor partners were acknowledged.

Welcome

- a) Craig Hattle welcomed all to the ninth AGM of the Taranaki Branch.
- b) Member Attendees: Sam Tyson, Arun Chaudhari, Craig Hattle, Brent Hulbert, Emma Bennett, Joanna Breare, Murray Seamark, Rob Facer, Bev Gibson, Colin Kay, Graham Wells, Justine Gilliland, Malclom Sutherland, Marie Callendar, Paul Feltoe, Adam Harris, Tim Barrett
- c) Non-Members also present: Jonathan Young
- d) The Chair thanked outgoing Branch Manager Theresa Cayley for her leadership of the Branch and welcomed new Branch Manager Rachel Church to the role.

Apologies

Received from: Norton Moller, Anita Scott, Hayden Wano, Pamela Walkin

Moved: Rob Facer/ Seconded: Sam Tyson

Minutes

Copies of the minutes of the 8th Annual General Meeting held on 19 February 2021 were circulated and confirmed as correct.

Moved: Rob Facer / Seconded: Sam Tyson

Election of Branch Committee for 2021

The 2021 committee profiles had been made available to attendees prior to the AGM. All nominees who were present stood to introduce themselves.

- a) The Branch received a total of 9 nominations and therefore no election was required.
- b) The Chair confirmed the resignation of Murray Seamark and Ruth Smithers
- c) The Chair welcomed Emma Bennett and Arun Chaudhari as newly nominated committee members and confirmed the 2021 committee Taranaki Branch Committee as:

Tim Barrett, Emma Bennett, Dr Joanna Breare, Arun Chaudhari, Rob Facer, Adam Harris, Craig Hattle, Brent Hulbert, and Sam Tyson

The Chair asked if members other than the nominees would move to appoint all 9 nominees to the Committee



AGM Minutes 2021 Page 2

Moved: Justine Gilliland / Seconded: Murray Seamark

Chairs Report

The Chairs report was circulated prior to the meeting to all branch members. It has been another strong year for the branch even with the impact of Covid 19 which brought many challenges but also great opportunities and achievements for our Branch.. Our membership at the end of 2020 stood at 186. Craig shared some highlights from the annual report which included:

Our congratulations to Anita Scott and Brian Ropitini who were recognised as Chartered Members this year and Bev Gibson who was recognised as a Chartered Fellow.

That a highlight for the Taranaki branch in 2020 was running 15 events, 8 of which were online. They offered members a mix of local access to speakers from outside the region, as well as a forum to discuss issues of local interest. The committee initiated the very successful virtual coffee cart series to create ongoing leadership conversations amongst our members and community leaders.

The branch finances continue to track ahead of budget financials and our sponsors were thanked again for their ongoing branch support.

Acknowledged all 2020 branch committee members for their strong contributions made throughout the year and for their continuing efforts. Murray Seamark and Ruth Smithers have resigned from the committee and were thanked for their significant contribution, support and hard work.

The 2021 areas of focus for the IoD and that should be top of mind for Directors are: Revival: rethink and redesign; Climate urgency; Adaptive boards; Prioritising people; and Cyber Resilience.

The Chair concluded his report with the invitation to share the journey with us; and invite others; be they directors, aspiring directors or even just thinking about it; to come and engage with us to add to the diversity and reach of our branch.

Sponsorship

The Chair acknowledged and thanked our National Partners: ASB and Marsh, and our local Branch Sponsors PwC and Auld Brewer Mazengardb & McEwen

General Business

No general business items

Meeting Close

The Chair thanked all those who attended and closed the meeting.



AGM Minutes 2021 Page 3