



Wednesday 3 April 2024

INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS
TARANAKI BRANCH

12th Annual General Meeting



Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting of the Taranaki Branch

Held on 3 April 2024, 4:30 pm

Welcome

- a) Craig Hattle, Chair welcomed all to the twelfth AGM of the Taranaki Branch.
- b) Member Attendees: Craig Hattle, Brent Hulbert, Rob Facer, Graham Wells, Adam Harris, Guy Roper, Allen Mazengarb, Shaun Smith, Kerry Boielle, Kylie Hawker-Green, Karen Pratt, Charlotte Littlewood, Kevin Murphy, Justin Peterson, Jenn Patterson, Bernard Pfister, Roddy Bennett, Peter van Dyk, Craig Marriott, Joanna Godwin

Apologies

Received from: Hayden Wano, Arun Chaudhari, Jessie Waite, Rachel Church Moved:

Minutes

Copies of the minutes of the 11th Annual General Meeting were circulated and confirmed as correct.

Moved:

Election of Branch Committee for 2024

- a) The Branch received a total of 2 new nominations and no election was required.
- b) The Chair confirmed the resignation of Brent Hulbert and Sam Tyson and thanked them for their extensive contributions to the branch.
- c) The Acting Chair welcomed Justin Peterson and Allen Mazengarb as newly nominated committee members and confirmed the 2024 committee Taranaki Branch Committee as also including:

Craig Hattle, Dr Joanna Breare, Arun Chaudhari, Rob Facer, Adam Harris, Jessie Waite, Peter van Dyk, Craig Marriott, Hayden Wano and Guy Roper.

The Chair asked if members other than the nominees would vote to appoint all 12 nominees to the Committee

A unanimous vote of yes/approval from all in attendance.

Moved: Craig Hattle / Guy Roper



2024 AGM Minutes Page 2

Chair's Report

Tenā koutou. It's my pleasure, as the Branch Chair, to bring to you the 2023 Annual Report of the Taranaki Branch of the Institute of Directors.

Membership

It has been another strong year for the branch. We welcomed 29 new members into the branch and our membership at the end of 2023 stood at 179 (slightly lower than the total of 191 at end of 2023), a big increase since the start of the branch in May 2012 when we had 84 members. Overall, the Institute of Directors ended the year with membership at 10,568 for the year.

Branch Events

In 2023 the branch ran 17 events including our monthly informal coffee catch ups which we began hosting with branch committee members. These events offered members a mix of local access to speakers from outside the region and a forum to discuss issues of local interest.

Our committee members facilitated events featuring diverse speakers and topics including:

- Climate transformation facilitated by Joanna Breare and Jessie Waite, with panelists including Tom Boon, Charlotte Littlewood, Jemma Gerring, Jason Rolfe, Kevin Kerr
- A breakfast with Hon Christopher Finlayson on co-governance
- NFP matchmaking event facilitated by Rob Facer and Adam Harris
- Annual Dinner with guest speaker Ross Buckly

Other highlights were awarding the Emerging Directors award to Jennifer Patterson sponsored by Govett Quilliam with board sponsorship from Toi Foundation.

A big thank you to all of you who support our branch events through your attendance and by bringing clients, colleagues and other guests. As always, we are interested in your feedback on guest speakers and topics of interest.

Finances

Our branch finances continue to track ahead of budget expectations and copies of financials are available on request. We are grateful to Brent Hulbert for his contribution to overseeing our finances.

Sponsors

I would like to sincerely thank all our sponsors for their ongoing support. Our national sponsors ASB and Marsh; and our local branch sponsors, PwC and event sponsor Auld Brewer Mazengarb & McEwen. Without their ongoing support the branch would be the poorer, and not just financially. They enrich the value of the local branch in many other ways through the supply of speakers, use of premises, attendance and provision of opportunities.

Branch Committee

I extend my personal thanks to the 2023 Committee; Joanna Breare, Rob Facer, Adam Harris, Brent Hulbert,



2024 AGM Minutes Page 3

Sam Tyson, Arun Chaudhari and new members Jessie Waite, Guy Roper, Hayden Wano, Peter van Dyk, and Craig Marriot. We are very grateful for their continued hard work, support and creativity which made this year's programme such a big success despite the challenges the year held for us all.

We are always keen to talk to people interested in serving on the committee; especially as we farewell Sam Tyson and Brent Hulbert this year. Thank you both for your significant contribution it has been very much appreciated.

A special thank you to Brent as a local sponsor with PwC and his 8 year service to the committee.

Looking Ahead to 2024

As we enter 2024, the IOD Governance Leadership Centre has identified five areas that should be top of mind for directors: climate leadership, future-ready succession, harnessing AI, enabling productivity, the value-adding board.

And our 2024 programme is already off to a great start – so make sure you watch out for the local newsletters to keep you informed.

We are a professional organisation that operates on the enthusiasm and passion our members have for good governance, we invite you to share the 2024 journey with us; and invite others; be they directors, aspiring directors or even just thinking about it; to come and engage with us to add to the diversity and reach of our branch.

So, thank you, members, for your attendance, input and engagement. New Zealand business needs good leadership and governance.

Craig Hattle

Chair

Taranaki Branch IoD 03 April 2024

Sponsorship

The Chair acknowledged and thanked our National Partner: ASB and departing branch sponsors Marsh and PwC

General Business

No general business items

Meeting Close

The Chair thanked all those who attended and closed the meeting.



2024 AGM Minutes Page 4