

OTAGO SOUTHLAND BRANCH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Date: Thursday 12 March

Time: 12.45pm

Location: The Dunedin Club, Melville Street, Dunedin

Members Present

Tony Allison, Steve Brocklebank, Rachel Brooking, Teresa Chan, Jon Foote, Kevin Gilbert, James Heath, Pat Heslin, Sanchia Jacobs, Tony Johnston, Trevor Kempton, Adam La Hood, Darryl MacKenzie, Craig McGregor, Tim Mepham, Trish Oakley, Sarah Ottrey, Michelle Read, Barbara Robertson, Sarah Simmers, Jason Tibble, Laura Warren

Non Members in Attendance

Mark Walker

Apologies

Apologies were recorded from:

Kathryn Ball, Duncan Fea, Kathy Grant, Peter Heenan, Rei Ishikawa, Susie Johnstone, Warwick McArthur, Alan McKenzie, Virginia Nichols, Michael Price, Vivienne Seaton.

It was moved (Trish Oakley, seconded Tony Allison) to accept the apologies received. Carried.

Confirmation of Minutes of Previous AGM (tabled)

It was moved (Trish Oakley, seconded Pat Heslin) to confirm the minutes of the AGM held on 6 March 2019 as a true and correct record. Carried.

Chairman's Report

Trish Oakley reported on another successful year for the Otago Southland Branch of the Institute of Directors.

The branch currently represents the interests of 695 members who hold a variety of roles across many commercial and not for profit organisations. The branch currently has eight Distinguished Fellows, 46 Chartered Fellows and 70 Chartered Members. We are pleased to report that eleven of our members were awarded Chartered Membership during 2019. We were also proud to award seven members with Chartered Fellowship.

Trish thanked Vivienne Seaton who left the branch after nearly 12 years as branch manager and acknowledged her commitment and passion for the organisation and its members and expressed thanks to Vivienne on behalf of the branch for her valued contribution. Trish acknowledged Philippa Murrell who took the role of branch manager in May last year and for quickly connecting with members and creating compelling events in the region. In addition a branch event coordinator role based in Queenstown was created towards the end of 2019 and Trish thanked Sarah Frost for her contribution to date in this role

In 2019 the branch ran 31 events, on a range of topics reflecting the IOD top five issues for directors. These events featured speakers from outside the region as well local directors and were held in Dunedin, Invercargill, Wanaka, Queenstown as well as webcasting to regional locations.

Event highlights included a breakfast with Mark Verbiest in Queenstown about the future of work and John Gallagher shared his thoughts on organisational culture in a special character organisation at a lunchtime event in Wanaka. Joc O'Donnell delivered an excellent presentation in Invercargill on the challenges and successes of governance in a family owned business and later in the year Jeff Grant shared his insights into Free Trade Agreements within UK and Europe and what we can expect after Brexit. In 2019 we worked with our branch

sponsors Anderson Lloyd and Deloitte to introduce the Director Dialogue series. These events provide the opportunity to discuss a variety of topics relevant to the boardroom in an informal setting, alongside creating a networking opportunity. Limited to 20 participants, Director Dialogue has proved to be very popular we ran five of these in the second half of last year. Trish acknowledged the support from Beccs Kilpatrick at Anderson Lloyd and Claire Williams at Deloitte with this programme.

Trish expressed thanks to the branch committee for their willingness to engage their contacts and bring such inspiring presenters to our region and also to members who attended and contributed to the dialogue and welcomed feedback on guest speakers and topics of interests.

The 2019 Emerging Director Award was presented to Kate Hesson with Nick Hamlin the runner-up.

Professional development courses including the Essentials suite of courses, Audit and Risk Committees, Reporting to the Board and the Governance Development Programme were held in Dunedin and the Company Director's Course in Queenstown along with Board Dynamics. Trish thanked members for their ongoing support of these courses which helps us to continue to deliver them in the region. Trish recorded sincere thanks on behalf of the branch committee to all the directors who have presented on the courses in this area and special thanks to the local presenters of the Governance Development Programmes who generously share their governance experiences to bring the course material to life on those programmes.

In 2019 the branch made a change in the way that we thank our speakers moving away from giving gifts to making a donation to a charity of the speaker's choice. Feedback to this initiative has been positive and has seen donations made to organisations including, Youthline, Women's Refuge, Hospice New Zealand and the National Blind Foundation.

Trish recorded thanks to the 2019 branch sponsors, Anderson Lloyd, ASB, Deloitte, and Marsh Ltd whose support ensures we deliver quality events and other initiatives across the region. She also recorded thanks to the branch committee members for their hard work over the year. Special acknowledgement and thanks were expressed to Anna Campbell who stepped down from the committee during 2019 and to Rei Ishikawa who was co-opted onto the committee in 2019.

Annual Financial Report (tabled)

The Branch statement of financial performance for the year to 31 December 2019 was tabled showing a surplus of \$5762. It was moved (Sarah Ottrey, seconded Tony Allison) that the annual financial report be accepted by the meeting. Carried.

Election of Branch Committee

In accordance with the constitution it was determined by the committee that the number of committee members in 2020 will be ten. Mr Tony Allison, Mrs Kathryn Ball and Mr Duncan Fea retire by rotation and offer themselves for re-election. During the year, on the retirement of Ms Anna Campbell from the committee, Rei Ishikawa was coopted and he has been nominated for election. No other nominations have been received and no nominations were taken from the floor.

The 2020 committee will therefore comprise Tony Allison, Kathryn Ball, Duncan Fea, Kathy Grant, Peter Heenan, Rei Ishikawa, Susie Johnstone, Alan McKenzie, Trish Oakley, and Sarah Ottrey.

General Business

Jon Foote proposed a vote to thanks to the branch committee for their hard work, support and commitment. Sarah Ottrey proposed a vote of thanks to Trish Oakley for her hard work as Chair of the Branch, noting that the role also involves serving on the IoD's National Council and thanked Trish for fulfilling that role during the year.

Closure

The meeting closed at 1.00 pm and the guest speaker, Mr Phil Ker, spoke to the meeting.