

MINUTES OF THE THIRTY NINTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS, CANTERBURY BRANCH, HELD ON 22 MARCH 2022 COMMENCING 5.30 PM VIA ZOOM WEBINAR

1. Present

Anna Bolland Jane Cartwright Stephen Spence
Anthony Brien Janine Holland Tania Armstrong
Barry Dent John Barr Vanessa Doig
Ben Kepes Lloyd Mander Vincent Pooch
Brendan Wood Mike Killick Zhanna Weet

Bridgette Jennings Nick Carter

Carol Bellette Paul Munro **Apologies:** Charlotte Sullivan Paulette Elliott Carolyn Harkness Darren Evans Corinne Haines Peter Young Jacky Percy Craig Price **Rex Williams** Darryl Duerden Richard Christie John Ruge Richard Smith Kirstie Gardener Daryn Govender Dennis Parker Robin Mann Louise Lennard Dolph Marmetschke Simon Markham Mads Moller Donna Howell Simon Stokes Mary Ross Geordie Hooft Sina Cotter Tait Samual Welsh Sophie McInnes Simon Carey Hannah Doney

2. Welcome

Branch Chair Mr Geordie Hooft welcomed attendees to the 39th Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Directors Canterbury Branch. He extended a special welcome to IoD Distinguished Fellows Dr Robin Mann and Rex Williams as well as Chartered Fellows and Chartered members and members present.

Mr Hooft explained the use of the Polling feature for voting, noting this was the second year the Branch AGM had been held online due to Covid restrictions.

No formal apologies were received.

3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Mr Geordie Hooft MOVED that the minutes of the 38th Annual General Meeting held on 22 March 2021 having been circulated to all members be adopted as a true and correct record. CARRIED

4. Chairman's Report

Mr Hooft summarised the Branch Chair's Annual Report for 2021, which had been emailed to members attending and will be circulated to all members in the next branch e-newsletter. Mr Hooft noted, that despite the continuing Covid restrictions on gatherings, member engagement at events had increased as we moved to offer more opportunities for online engagement.

Mr Hooft acknowledged the support of branch sponsors Duncan Cotterill, Nexia New Zealand, Pivot & Pace and University of Canterbury Business School and national partners ASB Bank, Aura Information Systems and Marsh Ltd.

He reminded the meeting that our financial accounts form part of the IoD national accounts and our local branch activities target a close-to-breakeven result, noting that Canterbury Branch achieved a positive result for 2021.

Mr Hooft thanked the 2021 branch committee for their hard work and dedication that made 2021 a successful year despite its many challenges. Mr Hooft thanked Jen Crawford and Peter Young for their contribution to the branch's Peer Support programme and for supporting and guiding local directors.

There were no questions in relation to the Chair's report and Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED the adoption of the report. CARRIED

5. Election of Branch Committee

Mr Hooft recorded with gratitude the contribution of Mr Nick Carter who was retiring from the branch committee and not available for re-election. He thanked Mr Carter for his service on the committee over the past nine years, particularly for his contribution to the branch's events programme.

As Mr Hooft was standing for re-election, Deputy Chair Lloyd Mander was asked to conduct the Election of Officers.

Mr Mander noted that under the branch constitution three members retire by rotation each year but are eligible to stand again without nomination. He advised that, as already mentioned, Mr Geordie Hooft was retiring by rotation this year and was available for re-election, Mr Nick Carter was not available for re-election and Ms Annemarie Moa resigned in 2021 due to study commitments.

As allowed under the branch constitution, Anna Bolland and Rex Williams had been co-opted onto the committee and would also be standing for election. One new nomination had been received from Daryn Govender.

As the candidate profiles had already been circulated, Mr Mander asked each candidate what their contribution to the committee would be.

Mr Mander advised that in 2016 National Council approved a resolution amending the branch constitution so that there was no cap on the maximum number of committee members. Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED that the branch committee be increased to a maximum of 12 members. CARRIED

With the increase in the maximum number of committee members, an election was therefore not required. Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED that Anna Bolland, Geordie Hooft, Daryn Govender and Rex Williams be appointed to the Canterbury branch committee for a three year term. CARRIED

Mr Mander advised that Mr Geordie Hooft would be stepping down as Branch Chair, but would remain on the branch committee, and thanked Mr Hooft for his excellent leadership over the past four years. A new Branch Chair will be appointed by the branch committee and advised to members in due course.

6. General Business

Presentation of Chartered Certificates

Mr Hooft virtually presented Mr Paul Munro with his Chartered Fellow certificate, and Ms Zhanna Weet and Mr Paul Stokes with their Chartered Member certificates.

As no further general business had been advised, Mr Hooft introduced guest speaker Mr Ben Kepes who shared his perspectives on balancing good governance with the need for agility.

7. Close

Mr Hooft reminded attendees of upcoming events during March and April. Mr Hooft thanked members for their support of the Institute of Directors and declared the 39th Canterbury Branch Annual General Meeting closed at 7.00pm

