

MINUTES OF THE THIRTY SEVENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS, CANTERBURY BRANCH, HELD ON 15 JUNE 2020 COMMENCING 5.00 PM VIA ZOOM WEBINAR

1. Present

Akshaye Shukla	Kirsten Todd	Vincent
Albert Brantley	Kris Cooper	
Alex Skinner	Lance King	Apologie
Annemarie Mora	Leeanne Carson-Hughes	Bridgette
Barry Dent	Lloyd Mander	Bruce M
Brett King	Mark Petrie	Charlott
Cam Brinsdon	Mark Rogers	Chris Wa
Carol Bellette	Mark Roughan	Chris Yo
Carolyn Harkess	Michelle Robin	Dame A
Craig Price	Mike Killick	Grant Da
Craig Watson	Murray Lapworth	Jane Car
Dennis Parker	Nick Carter	Jane Eva
Fiona McLeod	Rebecca Hyde	Jane Hur
Gary Jensen	Rex Williams	Josiah Tu
Glenn Livingstone	Richard Hegan	Katherin
Grant Lovell	Richard Smith	Keith La
Hannah Doney	Robin Mann	Mads M
Harriet Bond	Ronnie Cooper	Melanie
lan McInnes	Sam Brock-Smith	Nicky W
John Barr	Sharynn Johnson	Paul Rho
John Watt	Simon Carey	Peter Bo
Justin Stevenson	Simon Stokes	Selwyn N
Kathryn Ruge	Simon Worthington	Simon T
Kathy Meads	Sina Cotter Tait	Steve W
Keith Land	Tony Feaver	Tom Gre

ies te Jennings **McPherson** te Sullivan /allace oungman Adrienne Stewart Day rtwright ans-Freeman Jria Fualamali'i ne Allen and **Noller** e Bloom Vagner odes osworth Manning Thomas Vakefield Tom Gregg

Pooch

2. Welcome

Branch Chair Mr Geordie Hooft welcomed attendees to the 37th Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Directors Canterbury Branch, the first Branch AGM to be held online due the COVID-19 pandemic. He extended a special welcome to Dr Robin Mann (IoD Distinguished Fellows) as well as Chartered Fellows and Chartered members and members present.

Mr Hooft explained the use of the Zoom Q&A feature to MOVE or SECOND a motion as well as ask any questions.

Mr Hooft acknowledged the support of branch sponsors BDO Christchurch, Duncan Cotterill, Secure Strategy and University of Canterbury's Centre for Entrepreneurship; national partners ASB Bank and Marsh Ltd; and venue sponsor The George – and encouraged members to support these sponsors by using their services.

Mr Geordie Hooft MOVED that apologies as tabled be accepted. SECONDED: Mr Cam Brinsdon. CARRIED.

3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Mrs Hannah Doney MOVED that the minutes of the 36th Annual General Meeting held on 11 April 2019 having been circulated to all members be adopted as a true and correct record. SECONDED Mr Ian McInnes. CARRIED

4. Chairman's Report

Branch Chair Mr Hooft summarised the Branch Chair's Annual Report for 2019, which had been made available to members on the IoD website and circulated in the May branch newsletter. He reminded the meeting that our financial accounts form part of the IoD national accounts and our local branch activities target a close-to-breakeven result, noting that Canterbury Branch achieved a positive result for 2019. Mr Hooft thanked the 2019 branch committee for their efforts in providing an excellent programme over the past year. He thanked Graham Heenan and Jen Crawford for their ongoing roles in the branch's Peer Support programme.

There were no questions in relation to the Chair's report and Mr Geordie Hooft MOVED the adoption of this report. SECONDED Mr Mark Rogers. CARRIED

5. Election of Branch Committee

Mr Hooft recorded with gratitude the contribution of Mr Vincent Pooch who was retiring from the branch committee and not available for re-election. He thanked Mr Pooch for his service on the committee over the past nine years, including two years as Branch Chair.

Mr Hooft noted that under the branch constitution three members would retire by rotation each year but be eligible to stand again without nomination. There are therefore three position available on the committee. He advised that Mr Lloyd Mander was retiring by rotation and was available for re-election. As already mentioned, Mr Vincent Pooch was stepping down and not available for re-election, and Ali Wilkinson resigned earlier in the year due to work commitments.

Mr Hooft said it was heartening to have the support of local members and that he was pleased to have received an additional seven nominations from Katherine Allen, Sam Brock-Smith, Richard Hegan, Keith Land, Glenn Livingstone, Annemarie Moa and Michelle Robin. Mr Hooft advised that with eight nominations for three vacancies, an election would be required and asked each candidate to briefly introduce themselves. Katherine Allen was unable to attend so Mr Hooft read her statement.

Mr Hooft advised that voting would be completed using the Polling function on Zoom and asked members to vote for a maximum of three names.

Upon the closing of the voting poll, Mr Hooft advised that Richard Hegan, Lloyd Mander and Annemarie Moa had been selected by members to represent the Canterbury branch and MOVED that they be appointed as Canterbury branch committee members for a three year period. SECONDED: Kathryn Ruge. CARRIED

Mr Hooft advised that the Branch Chair for 2020 would be appointed by the branch committee in the next few days and duly advised to members.

6. General Business

There was no general business.

7. Close

Mr Hooft thanked members for their support of the Institute of Directors and declared the 37th Canterbury Branch Annual General Meeting closed at 5.45pm.

The Zoom Webinar was ended.

