



MINUTES OF THE THIRTY SIXTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS, CANTERBURY BRANCH, HELD ON 11 APRIL 2019 COMMENCING 5.45 PM AT GCH AVIATION CENTRE, 73 GRAYS ROAD, CHRISTCHURCH

1. Present

Abel Gore Adam Pauling Alistair Coleman Allan Williams Andrew Currie Arthur RuddenKlau **Barry Bragg Barry Cooper Barry Dent** Ben Sutton Bob Blyth Caitlin Buchanan **Carol Bellette** Caroline Blanchfield **Caroline** Christie **Charles Goodwin** Chris Laurie **Chris Pickering Christina Lefever Christine Prince** Cilla Glasson Colin McGeever Cory Bedford David Cartwright David Duns David Pigou David Tier **Derek Crombie** Doris Lien Fiona McLeod Geoff Lill **Geoff Ridley** Geordie Hooft **Glen Rutherford** Hannah Doney Ian McInnes Jacky Percy Jane Cartwright Jane Huria Jane Parfitt Jock Muir John Skipper Jong Ho Hwang Kara Scally-Irvine Katherine Allen Katherine Townend

Kathryn Ruge Kendall Green Laura Robinson Lea Sullivan Lee Robinson Mark Cathro Mark Christensen Mark Jordan Mark Roughan Michelle Guy Murray Weakley **Murray Willocks** Neil Davidson Neill Price Nick Carter Pat McEvedy Patrick Fogarty Peter Bosworth Peter Young **Rob Black** Robin Mann **Roger Barker** Rose Marie Shiavuzzi Ross Cameron Selwyn Manning Selwyn Paynter Shane Mckerrow Sharynn Johnson Simon Duncan Simon Thomas Stu Myles **Tony Chapman Tony McCormick** Tori McNoe **Trevor English Trevor Thornton Tyrone Burrowes** Warren Gilbertson Wayne Pickering

Apologies

Alex Skinner Ali Wilkinson Andrew Burns Barry Knight Callum Wood **Caron Palmer Craig Scott** Dame Adrienne Stewart Dean Palmer **Diana Patchett** Donna Favel **Glen Hughes** Graeme McGlinn Graham Heenan Ian Currie lan Town John Barr Julie Millar Kara Scally-Irvine Karl Smith Kathryn Leafe Kerry Dellaca Kevin McDonnell Lloyd Mander Mads Moller Mark Rogers Maureen McCloy Melanie Morris **Mike Killick** Murry Dickinson Nick Harwood Patrice Feary Patrick Methven Peter Jensen **Philip Redmond Rachel Harris Rachel Harris Richard Smith Rick Hill Rob Howie** Simon Thomas Steve Wakefield Vincent Pooch Wendy Schmidt

2. Welcome

Branch Chair Mr Geordie Hooft welcomed members and guests to the 36th Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Directors Canterbury Branch. He extended a special welcome to the trustees and staff from Canterbury West Coast Air Rescue Trust and New Zealand Flying Doctors Trust and thanked them for hosting us tonight. A special welcome was also extended to Dr Robin Mann and Mr Allan Williams (IoD Distinguished Fellows) and students from the University of Canterbury, as well as Chartered Fellows and Chartered members present.

Mr Hooft acknowledged the support of branch sponsors BDO Christchurch, Duncan Cotterill, Secure Strategy and University of Canterbury's Centre for Entrepreneurship; national partners ASB Bank and Marsh Ltd; and venue sponsor The George – and encouraged members to support these sponsors by using their services.

Dr Robin Mann MOVED that apologies as tabled be accepted. SECONDED: Mr Nick Carter. CARRIED.

3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Ms Hannah Doney MOVED that the minutes of the 35th Annual General Meeting held on 19 March 2018 having been circulated to all members were adopted as a true and correct record. SECONDED Ms Jane Cartwright. CARRIED

4. Chairman's Report

Branch Chair Mr Hooft summarised the Branch Chair's Annual Report for 2018, which had been circulated to all members in the April branch newsletter. He reminded the meeting that our financial accounts form part of the IoD national accounts and our local branch activities target a close-to-breakeven result, noting that Canterbury Branch achieved a positive result for 2018. Mr Hooft thanked the 2018 branch committee for their efforts in providing an excellent programme over the past year. He thanked Graham Heenan and Jen Crawford for their ongoing roles in the branch's Peer Support programme.

There were no questions in relation to the Chair's report and Ms Hannah Doney MOVED the adoption of this report. SECONDED Mr David Cartwright. CARRIED

5. Election of Branch Committee

Mr Hooft recorded with gratitude the contribution of Mrs Julie Millar who was standing down from the committee due to work commitments and could unfortunately not attend tonight. Mr Hooft then handed over to committee member Ms Jane Cartwright to conduct the Election of Officers.

Ms Cartwright noted that under the branch constitution three members would retire by rotation each year but be eligible to stand again without nomination. She advised that Mr Nick Carter and Mr Geordie Hooft were retiring by rotation and were available for re-election. As already mentioned, Mrs Julie Millar was stepping down and not available for re-election.

Ms Cartwright advised that as we had not received any further nominations by the closing date, there were therefore two nominations for three vacant positions on the committee and an election would not be required.

Mr Lee Robinson MOVED that Mr Nick Carter and Mr Geordie Hooft be re-appointed as committee members for the next three years. SECONDED: Jane Huria. CARRIED.

Ms Cartwright noted that the branch constitution allowed for members to be co-opted onto the committee during the year should additional resources be required. She advised that the Branch Chair for 2019 would be appointed by the branch committee in the next few days and duly advised to members.

6. General Business

Presentation of Chartered certificates

Mr Hooft made certificate presentations to newly Chartered Fellow Mr Ian McInnes and Chartered members Dr Caroline Christie, Mr Craig Latimer and Mr Pat McEvedy, thanking them for their commitment to excellence in governance.

As no further general business had been advised, Mr Hooft welcomed guest speakers Mr Barry Bragg (Deputy Chair) and Ms Christine Prince (CEO) from the Canterbury West Coast Air Rescue Trust who spoke on governance challenges in a NFP environment.

Mr Hooft then thanked Barry, Christine and their team for sharing their experiences and presented a \$1,500 donation in support of the Canterbury West Coast Air Rescue Trust and the outstanding services it provides.

7. Close

Mr Hooft thanked members for their support of the Institute of Directors and declared the 36th Canterbury Branch Annual General Meeting closed at 7.00pm.

Attendees were then invited to take a guided tour of the air rescue facilities and enjoy refreshments.