

Minutes of 32nd Annual General Meeting of the Auckland Branch IoD

Held at The Northern Club, 19 Princes Street, Auckland, Wednesday 19th May 2021, 9.10am

1.0 Present and Apologies

This AGM was held following the breakfast with Michael Barnett. 60 attended the breakfast.

Apologies received from: Lee Mathias, Julia Hoare, Brent Impey, Jonathan Mason, Bindi Norwell, Cecilia Tarrant, Susan Paterson, Leah Peacock and Ed McKnight

2.0 Minutes of the 31st AGM held Thursday 11th June 2020

The minutes, previously approved by the branch committee, were endorsed.

3.0 Branch Chairman's Annual Report with Financial Statement for YE 31 December 2020

Chair Ted van Arkel opened the AGM and thanked our sponsors ASB, KPMG, Marsh, Aura, MinterEllisonRuddWatts.

Branch 2020 Membership Snapshot

Ted invited attendees to observe the Auckland Branch Member snapshot and highlighted the following:

- \circ 3526 members in Auckland
- o Gender composition of membership 32.5% Female, 67.4% male
- Of the 3526 members, 1327 total attended our branch events
- Held 50 events in 2020
 - 10 After 5 events
 - 9 Breakfast events
 - 12 Workshops
 - 8 New Member coffee breaks
 - 11 Webcasts and livestreams

4.0 Auckland Branch Comparative Statement of Financial Performance

Financials were presented and tabled by Treasurer, Suneil Connor.

Ted thanked branch manager, Jill Steffert and her able colleague, Natalie Spratt.

Ted acknowledged and thanked the branch committee for their contribution and support. The present committee consists of: Julia Hoare (now VP Council), Jo Brosnahan, Suneil Connor, Andrew Evans, Brent Impey, Simone Iles, Jonathan Mason (Council), Ed McKnight, Bindi Norwell, Susan Paterson, Cecilia Tarrant, Clayton Wakefield, Ross Buckley and Leah Peacock.

5.0 Election of branch committee members

Julia Hoare has advised she will step down from the committee as she moves into the role of President of the IoD's National Council as of the next national AGM. Ted advised that he will also be stepping down as Chair and as a member of the Auckland Branch Committee following this AGM with immediate effect. A new branch Chair will be elected at the post-AGM committee meeting.

In accordance with the Auckland Branch Constitution, the Committee members standing for re-election this year are: Jo Brosnahan, Suneil Connor and Ed McKnight. Each members has been nominated by Clayton Wakefield and seconded by Andrew Evans.

Ted moved that each committee member be re-elected and a vote was held by show of hands. All were voted in favour of re-election unanimously.

In November 2020 Ross Buckley was co-opted onto the committee to fill a vacancy left by Sarah Sandley. A vote was held by show of hands to formally vote Ross onto the committee. The vote was unanimous.

Ted and Julia's decision to step down leaves two vacancies in the Auckland Branch committee to be filled. Nominations to fill these vacancies are:

- Hilary Poole
- o Dr Jim Mather

Ted asked each nominee to speak briefly on their background prior to a vote held by show of hands. Jim and Hilary were unanimously voted into the committee.

6.0 General Business

Chartered Fellow, Warren Dalzell congratulated new and existing committee members and expressed appreciation for the calibre of the Auckland Branch committee.

Clayton thanked Ted on behalf of the committee for his contribution and commitment to the Auckland Branch and presented him with a gift.

Ted closed the meeting at 9.27am.